Skip to main content

Eric Flint Papers

 Collection — Container: SFWA
Identifier: RBSC-SFWA-026

Scope and Contents

The Eric Flint Papers consist of printed (paper-based) manuscripts of novels, bibliographic material, written personal notes and revisions on his stories, and correspondence (with the majority being e-mails to and from Christopher Anvil a.k.a. Harry C. Crosby Jr.). There is also a miscellaneous section with brochures and packaging material. Besides the paper-based materials, there are also three USB drives full of revised stories and correspondence with Mr. Anvil. The collection is divided into series based upon format. Series I consists of Novels; Series II includes Bibliographic material; Series III contains Notes; Series IV consists of Correspondence; Series V is Miscellaneous; and Series VI are the USB drives. The majority of materials are organized within their series based upon original date of publication.


  • created: 1993-2011
  • Other: Date acquired: 11/16/2008


Conditions Governing Access

Photographs and photocopies of collection are prohibited.

Conditions Governing Use

Property Rights are transferred to the University Libraries per the signed Deed of Gift Document. Literary Rights are retained by the content creator.  Any copyrights so stated in the materials remain in force.

Biographical or Historical Information

Eric Flint is an American novelist, short story author, editor, and e-publisher who deals primarily with science fiction, fantasy, and alternate history. He was born in South California in 1947. Growing up he lived for five years in France and he later graduated from UCLA with a Bachelor’s degree. He worked toward a Ph D in History, but left academia in 1971. After this, he took various jobs, with the main one being a machinist. Eric also spent his years during that time as a political activist and was a member of the Socialist Workers Party. The short story that broke him onto the writing scene was entitled, "Entropy, and the Strangler" , which was published in 1993 after it won the Winter 1992 Writer’s of the Future Contest. His 1st novel to be published was "Mother of Demons" in 1993. Eric has worked closely with Richard Poach, David Drake, Dave Freer, and Mercedes Lackey on some of his works. In addition to writing, Eric Flint is also an editor and is involved in a project called Read Assist (electronic publishing). At present time Eric Flint lives in Northwest Indiana with his wife Lucille and is a full time writer. For more information on Eric Flint or his materials, please visit:

Note written by


2.00 Linear Feet

Language of Materials


Arrangement Note

Series I consists of Novels, Series II includes Bibliographic material, Series III contains Notes, Series IV is Correspondence, Series V is Miscellaneous, and Series VI are materials from his three USB drives.

Custodial History

Direct from author to curator

Source of Acquisition

Eric Flint

Method of Acquisition

Initital donation was transfered at WindyCon 2008. The remaining materials have been mailed to NIU.

Accruals and Additions

Additions from Eric Flint: 03/10/2010, 09/22/2010, 09/29/2011, 12/12/2012, 12/20/2013, 12/14/2014, 12/02/2015, 12/14/2017, 12/04/2018, 12/11/2019

Related Materials

Genre / Form

Uniform Title

Archon Finding Aid Title
Description rules
Other Unmapped
Language of description
Script of description
Code for undetermined script
Language of description note

Repository Details

Part of the Northern Illinois University Repository

Founders Memorial Library
Northern Illinois University
DeKalb IL 60115 US