Skip to main content

Fred Saberhagen Papers

Identifier: RBSC-SFWA-053

Scope and Contents

The Fred Saberhagen Papers consists of printed (paper-based) and handwritten edited manuscripts (mostly of his novels), a small amount of short stories, correspondence associated with those materials, and some miscellaneous materials.  The collection is divided into series based upon format. Series I consists of novels, Series II includes short stories, Series III contains correspondence, Series IV is miscellaneous, Series V is Entertainment Media Adapted from Novels, and Series VI is Media. Each Series is broken down into book series by date of publication.  For example, Series I: Novels starts with his Berserker series (which was his first series) and each of the books in this series are placed in order by date of publication. The order of his written materials is as follows: Berserker series, Empire of the East series, Vlad Tepes series, Mask of the Sun series, Book of the Swords series, Book of the Lost Swords series, Books of the Gods series, Standalone novels, Omnibus, Collections, Book series Saberhagen contributed to, Anthologies he edited, Anthologies containing his stories, and ending with short stories. An Addendum was added on 8-28-2014 that added material to Series I, II, III, and IV and created Series V and VI. Another Addendum was added on 8-28-2015 that added material to Series I.


  • created: 1960-2013
  • Other: Date acquired: 12/00/2011


Conditions Governing Access

Photographs and photocopies of collection are prohibited.

Conditions Governing Use

Property Rights are transferred to the University Libraries per the signed Deed of Gift Document. Literary Rights are retained by the content creator.  Any copyrights so stated in the materials remain in force.

Biographical or Historical Information

Fred Saberhagen was a Science Fiction and Fantasy author known for his short stories, science fiction novels, and his Berserker series.  He was born on May 18, 1930 and he passed away on June 29, 2007.  In his lifetime he wrote seventy plus short stories and more than seventy of his novels were published.  He grew up in Chicago, but later moved to New Mexico.  His fantasy readers know him for his Lost Swords series and another popular series was the Dracula series in which the story is told from the vampire’s point of view.  He also created the Books of the Gods which were retellings of myths from different cultures.  He co-authored two novels with Roger Zelazny and one with James V Hart.  In his early years he served in the U.S. airforce, worked as an electronics technician for Motorola, and wrote/edited pieces for the Encyclopedia Britannica.  He began writing seriously around the age of 30 and his 1st sale was to Galaxy magazine that put his short story “volume PAA-PYX’ into its 1961 publication.  In 1964 he had his 1st novel published, ‘the Golden People’.  He leaves behind his wife, Joan, two sons, and a daughter.   For more information on Saberhagen and his works, please see his website:

Note written by


42.00 Linear Feet

Language of Materials


Arrangement Note

Series I is Novels, Series II is Short Stories, Series III consists of Correspondence, Series IV is Miscellaneous, Series V contains Entertainment Adapted from Novels, and Series VI is Media.

Source of Acquisition

Joan Saberhagen

Method of Acquisition

Mailed to RBSC by Joan Saberhagen, Fred's wife.

Accruals and Additions

Additions by Joan Saberhagen: 01/20/2012, 03/02/2012, 03/16/2012, 05/14/2012, 07/02/2012, 08/23/2012, 05/02/2013, 11/2013, 10/7/2015, 11/05/2015, 01/20/2017, 12/14/2018, 10/24/23

Related Materials

Genre / Form

Uniform Title

Archon Finding Aid Title
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the Northern Illinois University Repository

Founders Memorial Library
Northern Illinois University
DeKalb IL 60115 US