Skip to main content

David Weber Papers

Identifier: RBSC-SFWA-017

Scope and Contents

The David Weber papers consist mainly of printed (paper-based) proofs, copy edited proofs, galley proofs, and bound typescripts.  The collection is divided into series based upon format.  Series I consists of novels, series II consists of short stories, series III is correspondence, series IV is miscellaneous, and series V contains digital content (e-mailed documents).  The novels are organized by series order of publication listed on the author's bibliography page.  The novels are in the following order: the Honor Harrington series, Dahak series, War God series, Safehold series, stand alone novels, and then co-authored novels.


  • created: 1991-2012
  • Other: Date acquired: 10/08/2008


Conditions Governing Access

Photographs and photocopies of collection are prohibited.

Conditions Governing Use

Property Rights are transferred to the University Libraries per the signed Deed of Gift Document. Literary Rights are retained by the content creator.  Any copyrights so stated in the materials remain in force.

Biographical or Historical Information

David Weber was born on October 29, 1952 and at the age of two his family moved to Greenville, South Carolina.  He attended Hillcrest High school and graduated in 1970.  Weber then went to the Clemson extension program at Greenville Tech and later finished his undergraduate studies at Warren Wilson college.  He sought a Master's degree in History at Appalachian State University in North Carolina, but after some reservations about pursuing this line of work he went back to South Carolina and ran Weber Associates.  He started writing stories and poetry back in elementary school and at sixteen he won 1st place in poetry, short story, and SA at Greenville's Art Festival.  Weber contends that his mother and father gave him the writing skills he needed as well as a joy for reading, especially science fiction.  At Weber Associates he gained a lot of experience in advertising and editing.  He later came to know Steve White through mail and their love for the game StarFire.  Their collaboration led to his first published novel, Insurrection, by Baen Books.  This would later be followed by the book series Honor Harrington,  the Hell's Gate series, and the Safehold series.  All of his novels from the Honor Harrington series (since number eight) have been placed on the New York Times extended list of bestsellers.  Weber has stated that he is very grateful for all the success and emphasizes that his journey as an author led him to work with very professional, enthusiastic, and caring individuals.

Note written by


6.50 Linear Feet

Language of Materials


Arrangement Note

Series I consists of novels, series II consists of short stories, series III is correspondence, series IV is miscellaneous, and series V contains digital content (e-mailed documents).

Source of Acquisition

David Weber

Method of Acquisition

06/25/2012: 3 additional boxes arrived in RBSC from David Weber

Accruals and Additions

Additions from David Weber: 06/09/2010, 06/25/2012

Related Materials

Archon Finding Aid Title
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description
Code for undetermined script
Language of description note

Repository Details

Part of the Northern Illinois University Repository

Founders Memorial Library
Northern Illinois University
DeKalb IL 60115 US